Canadian Folk Music Awards winners announced

canadian folk music awardsThe winners of the Canadian Folk Music Awards were announced at an event in Calgary, Alberta. The event was hosted by Shelagh Rogers and Benoit Bourque. The winners were:

Unsung Hero – Mitch Podolak
Folk Music Canada’s Innovator Award – Daniel Lapp
Instrumental Group of The Year – Jaron Freeman-Fox & The Opposite of Everything
Pushing the Boundaries Award – Jaron Freeman-Fox & The Opposite of Everything
Producer of the Year – David Travers-Smith
Ensemble of the Year – The Good Lovelies
Vocal Group of the Year – The Good Lovelies
New/Emerging Artist of the Year – Mo Kenney
English Songwriter of the Year – David Francey
French Songwriter of the Year – Dany Placard
Solo Artist of the Year – Lynn Miles
Contemporary Album of the Year – Justin Rutledge (Valleyheart)
Contemporary Singer of the Year – Ian Sherwood
Traditional Album of the Year – Mary Jane Lamond & Wendy MacIsaac (Seinn)
Traditional Singer of the Year – Pharis Romero
Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year – Nancy Mike of the Jerry Cans
World Solo Artist of the Year – Jorge Miguel
World Group of the Year – Jaffa Road
Young Performer of the Year – Kierah
Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year – Chrissy Crowley
Children’s Album of the Year – Helen Austin (Always be a Unicorn)

The Canadian Folk Music Awards is in its ninth year. The 2014 awards are set to be awarded in Ottawa, Ontario. For more information on the awards and past and present winners, please visit their website.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Written by Destrukto. Original content here: Canadian Music News

About the author

Destrukto is a musician, songwriter and producer from Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada with college diplomas in both business and computers. Destrukto has spent well over 10 years playing in, recording and promoting Canadian bands.